Easily Amused

I was greeted the other morning by a coworker grinning from ear to ear. “I love Vista!” he proclaimed and proceeded to tell me of a great discovery.

As it happened, he had been working on a personal project the night before and had inserted a blank CD in the drive. What did he see? A dialogue box asking him if he would like to burn an audio CD or a music CD. How convenient is that?! The best part is, he didn’t have to buy any third-party software!

He seemed so happy, so full of glee. I didn’t have the heart to tell him that I’ve enjoyed the same luxury with Ubuntu (Nautilus, to be more pecise) for almost three years now…well, I almost didn’t have the heart to tell him.

Cheers!
-Brandon

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Easily Amused”

  1. Neil Brown says :

    I have had no exposure to Vista, but Ubuntu Linux has nearly everything the average user could ask for, just in the default desktop install. (I installed Thunderbird because I used that in Windows XP). With Wine, you can even port over some of your favorite Windows applications or games). Honestly, I find Linux easier to use and update than Windows – anything in the repository is just installed or updated by Add/Remove or Synaptic – Windows requires non-Microsoft applications to be installed/updated individually. Go figure…

    http://brownn.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

