Brandon’s Desktop

 

When I agreed to post on Linux FUD as a regular contributor, one of Kevin’s first requests was that I post a screenshot of my desktop. At first, I thought this was a rather strange request, but then again, this is a great way for you to get to know me a little better. So, here it is…

Brandon’s Ubuntu Desktop

The background image changes on occasion, though I keep coming back to this one time and again. Ubuntu is based on Debian, so I really don’t mind displaying the logo. I have an affection for still life photography, and in my opinion this shot is well framed and rich in color. I am also a bit of a coffee snob. The white bands on the top and bottom provide a nice, clean backdrop for symlink and launcher icons (i.e. shortcuts to directories and programs respectively).

It may strike you as odd that my toolbars are docked on the left, and not in the typical top (Gnome) or bottom (Windows) positions. This is a byproduct of using a laptop. My screen resolution is 1280 X 768, and the toolbars take up valuable desktop real estate when in either of these other two positions. The semi-transparency of the skinny toolbar is purely for aesthetics, and I think it contrasts quite well with the horizontal black bars.

Besides the file browser and terminal, open applications include the XMMS media player (my personal favorite) and Gweled, an Open Source version of Bejeweled by PopCap/Microsoft. I also opened the weather forecast desklet for eye candy.

And in case you were wondering, yes, this is Ubuntu 5.10, Breezy Badger. I hope to have time in my schedule for an upgrade to 8.04.

Cheers!

-Brandon

 

One response to “Brandon’s Desktop”

  1. Roy Schestowitz says :

    Hi,

    I subscribed some days ago. I look forward to some FUD busting.

Leave a Reply

