SCREENSHOT: March 4, 2007 – Dark and Fresh Ubuntu Linux

Well, here is my new Ubuntu Linux desktop. I’ve worked quite a bit on it, I am proud of it, and comfortable with it. What makes it complete is also what you cannot see in the screenshots. Read on to find out more…

I changed from this theme to the darker theme below when I finally replaced my CRT monitor for an LCD monitor. My CRT would never have made this theme usable; it would have been too dark to read anything. Therefore, if you have a CRT monitor and look at my screenshots and think that they’re too dark for you, it’s time you replace your monitor, cause holy smokes LCDs are WAY better! I even spent a lot of time customizing my Windows XP to a darker theme. I’ll post a screenshot of that desktop soon.

I also find that my new theme goes really well with the new Linux FUD WordPress theme called Freshy. Which brings me to names. I don’t know what to call this Desktop, though. It’s kinda Vista-y and Fresh. Maybe Freshta? Hehe… Freshta. I’ll have to sleep on that. 😉

Let me know what you think:

Bare:
screenshot-bare-2007-03-04.png 1680 x 1050 – PNG

Busy – Amarok & Kopete:
screenshot-amarok-kopete-2007-03-04.png1680 x 1050 – PNG

Busy – Nautilus & Terminal
screenshot-nautilus-terminal-2007-03-04.png1680 x 1050 – PNG

UPDATE (2007.03.08): You can rate this Desktop on the Ubuntu Forums Gallery HERE.

Here are the details of, er, Freshta.

  • Wallpaper: “My Very Own Vista
  • Gnome Controls and Window Borders: Neutronium
  • Icon Theme: Amaranth (not sure if this came with Ubuntu/Gnome or if I installed it myself)
  • Dock Bar: gDesklets StarterBar with the background taken from the Neutronium theme.
  • Other icons used for the StarterBar, my gnome panels, and the desktop were gathered mainly at deviantArt and doing Google Image searches for icons.
  • Font: Segoe UI from Microsoft Vista and Office 2007
  • CPU temperatures and fan speeds: gkrellm
  • Analog clock: gDesklets FTB-clock
  • Network information: FTB-net-gauge
  • Amarok and Kopete: color schemes were changed by manually changing the color theme in my KDE desktop

What you don’t see also makes a big difference in the overall theme flow that makes it comfortable to use. For example, I use the Avio-GDM GDM Theme (sometimes the DarkCleanLinux GDM) and the DarkCleanLinux Splash theme. For the desktop background color, I use a Vertical Gradient with the following colors in Hex: #373737 and #000000 (Black), respectively; they go well with the splash when Ubuntu is loading. Other GTK colors were manually changed.

Check out all of my desktop screenshots.

Tags:

14 responses to “SCREENSHOT: March 4, 2007 – Dark and Fresh Ubuntu Linux”

  1. salamander says :

    can you give this theme.. its very nice and i vry like it… plezz

  2. jake says :

    hey can i get a copy of it? i absoluletly love your theme… its amazing. im actually right now running a partition to install XP and then linux… damned Vista crapped my computer out XP

  3. Navid says :

    Nice. Looks a bit like my winter/night theme. But because of the summer, I went to this theme:

    The dots aren’t snow. They are slowly rising flowers. Look very sunny. Goes well with sunny chillout music.🙂
    And: Yes, I really do not have any window buttons. You do not need them with Compiz. I can close any window with Win-End, or Win-Mouse2, for example. (They are self-defined.)

    P.S.: Oops. I forgot to enable anti-aliasing. ^^

  4. ubuntu says :

    is it ubuntu 9.10???

Leave a Reply

