Adventures in a New Ubuntu 6.10 Clean Install: Day 5, Part 1

Day 5

It’s been a while since my last post in this series. Only because once I used Automatix to install all my applications, I was basically finished with my system. Since my last post in this series, I’ve been busy customizing the look and feel of Ubuntu, which I find is the funnest part of using Ubuntu! There are so many options and themes and icons and window borders and wallpapers… but let’s keep that for another post.

There are still some things I needed to go through to make it the best system… well, for me, anyhow!

Hidden Menu Entries: Showing Them!

After Automatix installations, I realized that my Applications menu was missing some menus and entries. By default, Ubuntu doesn’t show all applications available to a user. It hides the ones that are redundant or may cause problems for new users if not used properly.

One example of this is the Configuration Editor. Think of this like a “Registry Editor”. It allows you to select and configure settings for many installed applications and also for the system.

Hidden Menu Entries in Menu EditorTo show these “hidden entries” in your Applications Menu, right-click on it and select “Edit Menus”. This will load the Menu Layout screen.

In the left pane, you will see your menus. If you select the System Tools menu (shown in the figure), you will see many options that are unchecked. One of these is the Configuration Editor. Select it and it will instantly appear in your menu.

I wanted to show the Configuration Editor in the first place so that I can add some regular icons on my desktop, like in Windows.

While you have the Menu Editor, why don’t you go through it and enable/disable applications you will use/not use? You can also add new entries that aren’t there, if you want to.

I usually add and entry in the System Tools called “Refresh Desktop” which contains the command:

killall gnome-panel nautilus

This will reload your panels and your desktop (Nautilus). Then I chose a nice icon that fits with it by looking in /usr/share/icons.

Tags:

3 responses to “Adventures in a New Ubuntu 6.10 Clean Install: Day 5, Part 1”

  1. shriphani says :

    could you post a few screenshots. I am currently running ubuntu 6.06. like how much of an improvement is this version over its predecesssors. I heard that ubuntu is using the same version of gnome that it did during the days of breezy badger. Do you suggest i upgrade to edgy ?

  2. Kevin Guertin says :

    There’s not much difference to the eye… it’s more inner changes. If you don’t have any problems with Dapper, why upgrade? If you want that feeling of nice and fresh, go ahead and upgrade. 🙂

    I can sure post a screenshot… watch for it! …

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. SCREENSHOT: November 20, 2006 « Linux FUD - November 20, 2006

Leave a Reply

