How to Fix the OpenOffice Copy and Paste Crash Bug

The new version of Ubuntu 6.10 (Edgy Eft) shipped with a version of OpenOffice that contains a critical bug that will cause Writer to crash when you attempt to copy from Writer and paste to another application, causing you to lose your work. I blogged about this bug when I first installed Ubuntu 6.10 (Edgy Eft).

The LaunchPad bug report contains a “semi-fix” by adding a few resource lines to your /etc/apt/sources.list that will allow installation of “testing” packages that fixes the bug.

To fix your OpenOffice, add the following lines to your /etc/apt/sources.list file (sudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list):

deb http://people.ubuntu.com/~doko/ubuntu/ edgy/$(ARCH)/
deb http://people.ubuntu.com/~doko/ubuntu/ edgy/all/

Then do:

sudo aptitude update
sudo aptitude upgrade

… to install the packages.

Edit: The first deb line above is wrapped to the next line. Ensure that when you paste that first line to your sources.list file that it’s all on ONE LINE.

 

Tags:

7 responses to “How to Fix the OpenOffice Copy and Paste Crash Bug”

  1. zek says :

    after this, do I still need the 2 lines added in /etc/apt/sources.list? Shall I remove it then?

  2. Kevin Guertin says :

    I’m not sure… I left them there. But it should be fine to remove them. You may find more info at the Launchpad bug report. If not, maybe post it as a question there… they’ll be better informed than me. 🙂

  3. Josep Ll. says :

    I have tried to add the lines to the /etc/apt/sources.list file, but when I try to save it I get the message “unexpected error; file not found”. Any suggestions.

    This is a major bug that mostly invalidates openoffice.org and that doesn’t exist in its Windows version. It should have been solved before allowing openoffice.org to go public.

    Thanks for any help

  4. Kevin Guertin says :

    The deb lines in the post are wrapped to the next line because they are too long. Make sure there is only 2 lines in your sources.list file, like this:

    deb http://people.ubuntu.com/~doko/ubuntu/ edgy/$(ARCH)/
    deb http://people.ubuntu.com/~doko/ubuntu/ edgy/all/

  5. Josep Ll. says :

    Ok, I managed to modify the file, and now OpenOffice.org doesn’t crash when I copy to a new message in Gmail, but it does when I try to paste into Google docs or when I try to paste into a wiki rich editor area.

    Still a major bug that makes OpenOffice.org unusable for me.

    Thanks for your assistance

  6. Josep Ll. says :

    Sorry, I forgot to update and upgrade, problem seems solved now

Leave a Reply

