Filesystem Hierarchy Standard (FHS) Wiki

One of the major obstacles I need to overcome in Linux is learning the file system hierarchy. Not just learning it, but understanding it. What are these cryptically-named folders…er… directories? Where do files go when I install something? Where do I find certain files?

The Filesystem Hierarchy Standard (FHS) Wiki has a good description of each common directory in Linux and an explanation on the naming of each.

You can also find more information at the FHS Home.

I learned most of it in College about 4 years ago, but that was mainly memorizing to get my grades… and not because I’m lazy, but the teacher for the Linux Network Administration class was terrible. And I’m not just saying that because I don’t like him. In fact, he’s extremely smart (he can do complicated binary math in his head), just a bad teacher. He was fired a year after I graduated after 10 years of teaching and many complaints by the student body!

Whoa… talk about off-topic!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. SEO fürs Dateisystem « wer21 - April 16, 2012

Leave a Reply

