FUD?

No, it’s not a swear. It’s an acronym for Fear, Uncertainty, and Doubt. FUD. These are all feelings a (potential) new Linux user feels. You can add stupidity to that list, too.

That’s how I feel. Stupid. FUDS.

You see, I consider myself to be a Microsoft Windows guru. I’ve been using/working with computers since 1991 (of course there was Commodore 64 and the likes before that). Remember MS-DOS Shell? How about QBasic? The original Nibbles? I’ve been using, studying, and tinkering everything “Microsoft” since its infant years. I know my stuff.

I’ve grown to hate Microsoft (for all the usual reasons), but still love it at the same time. Then I ask myself, “Honestly, is it really love?” Nah… I think it’s more like a habit or a security blanket. Stick to what you know.

And then there’s Linux, tugging at the security blanket, charmingly threatening to take it away and offer better things for free. It’s convincing, and I’m starting to let go of that blanket.


So why do I feel stupid? Well, although I took some basic Unix/Linux classes and little Linux network administration, I’m a noobie and it’s all different and a little too difficult to learn. Linux makes me feel stupid. I don’t know my stuff. Therefore, I fear it.

Over the years, I’ve tried different flavors of Linux and it always laughed at me and didn’t quite impress me. So I do what you usually do with an inconsiderate brat. I abandoned it. I ran away, hurt, and crying back to Microsoft. A bad habit. A bad relationship.Then what happened? A new Linux flavor shows up on the scene, looking all sexy and yummy like Haagen-Dazs ice cream, threatening my relationship with Microsoft. No, it wasn’t KKE Linux (Karamel Kone Explosion Linux), but Ubuntu Linux.

So, Ubuntu made me cheat on Microsoft. Ubuntu even moved in with me and Microsoft and the funny thing is, Microsoft doesn’t even know it! Microsoft can’t even see Ubuntu! In other words, I have a dual-boot system with Windows XP Professional.

I need to adjust. It’s a new relationship. I’m beginning to love it and I will fight for that love.

I can’t completely let go of Windows just yet… It still has its perks. To quickly run off the main three:

  1. I can’t live without MixMeister Pro, since I also love to mix music and it’s expensive software.
  2. I’m also having a hard time letting go of Winamp, the best piece of music software on the planet. Amarok is close to it, but it lacks serious features. (We’ll talk about that in another post).
  3. The most important reason I can’t let go is because of my crappy ATI Radeon 9200 SE video card. TV Output does not work and cannot be made to work (as far as I can see from the countless hours of research I’ve been doing), therefore I would have to watch movies and tv shows on my computer screen. So, no. I have to load Windows XP for that. I won’t let go.

So this blog will be about my experiences with Linux, mainly Ubuntu/Kubuntu, and tackling my FUD… or FUDS. I will also post most issues I’ve encountered and how I’ve solved them. I will post interesting information like tips, tricks, and links as I learn them.

If you are new to Ubuntu and are having FUD issues, you are more than welcome to visit this site to share the experience and learn with me.

Hope to see you around!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “FUD?”

  1. CDX says :

    HEre’s some info on that graphicscard problem if you still use that card…

    http://www2.ati.com/drivers/linux/linux_3.12.0.html

    You have to have the TV connected and on AV when you start your X server.
    In your case that probably means when you start the computer. Otherwhise you could drop X with ctrl+shift+backspace for an automatic restart that rereads the xorg config file.

    xorg is not really fun to configure manually, it’s mostly booring and tedious but the best chance of getting it right is to roll your own xorg conf.

    Open a terminal and print “man xorg” (thats with out the hyphens) and read it all.

    TV out is a bit of a bitch in Linux, I’m a Linux “Power User” and me thinks TV out in Linux should be Cannoicals (the Ubuntu folks) next big priority.

    Thing is there are a big chunk of info for advanced users and administrators in the Linux and BSD communities, but the main problem is that being an administrator in a POSIX2 compliant *NIX environ calls for more skill sets than the average MS Admin. Most MS admins do not bother with learning Regulare expressions, Bash Scripting, general Programming and Scripting (C or C++ and more and more Python instead of Perl), TCP/IP and more.

    But all this info is readily available on the net due to the open API’s and Standards in conjunction with a vibrant community.

    You expect a LInux Admin to have a wider skill set than an MS Admin in general but you also expect a Linux admin to know how to find the info and learn it fast. It’s the hacker mentality that Windows power users and admins could have had but lack.

    Well these are my thoughts on the subject…

    I’m off to grab a sandwich …

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

