Vista FUD?

From the iPhone Savior Blog

Entering Vista City Limits - Population: decreasing

Seeking out and responding to FUD is not about slinging mud in the other direction. It’s about correcting lies, rumors and bad press. For me, it’s about providing an alternative view on things. I just happen to be passionate about Linux in particular, based on my own conversion.

It is interesting to see the tides turning though. The press used to be full of “Microsoft Does It Again!” and “Is Linux Really Ready?” stories. Now, it is Microsoft’s turn. Purusing the recent feed headlines on my iGoogle homepage, I found several examples of how the press is starting to switch sides. But then, what can we really expect? Dirty laundry sells.

Microsoft Gives Up on Vista” was the first article I read. Apparently, even Bill Gates knows when to fold ‘em in light of Vista’s obvious market problems. The article goes on to note that both Microsoft’s market share and raw customer base are at stake, and that the next release of Windows will be pivotal to retaining both. Uncertainty.

Reportedly, Seinfeld will become the new spokesman for Microsoft, a move that some view as a risky measure. I like Seinfeld, but this seems like an odd choice coming from a company that has always maintained a very professional, down-to-business image. I assume he won’t be doing any server ads — no, this must be for mass appeal. Fitting that his “much ado about nothing” shtick will probably be leveraged to resurrect Vista sales. Doubt.

No one likes to watch commercials, save perhaps during “The Big Game“, and avoiding pop-up ads while surfing the ‘Net is the modern equivalent to those VCRs that included a feature to skip commercials while recording. Ad blockers are common and can be an effective safety feature against pop-ups that employ social engineering techniques to allow hackers access your system. IE8 is drawing criticism from advertisers that claim that the enhanced privacy feature “InPrivate” could seriously affect advertising revenues that ultimately fund many (“free”) Web services. This could have a ripple-effect on the economy, some say. Fear.

Admittedly, these are subtle examples, not outright Windows-bashing campaigns and it’s not like the headlines are chock full of anti-Microsoft rhetoric, but these sorts of stories could be the first hints of a trend in that direction. What is important in the long-run is the substance (or lack thereof) that supports the FUD.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Vista FUD?”

  1. Richard Chapman says :

    Time is like the harsh light of a fluorescent bulb. It replaces false beauty with harsh reality. Microsoft is confronting the reality that software used by everyone is best owned by everyone. The realization that the way it’s always been is not necessarily the way it should be is beginning to solidify in the minds of a weary public. Now that information is finding its way from the confines of small technical circles to the general public, Microsoft has hired a smooth talking pretty boy in an attempt to redirect the public gaze from the disaster of Vista to the shiny marketing promises of Vista.

    Sorry Microsoft, Time will always win out. Just ask any hill that used to be a mountain. You can only work within the confines of Time. You can never beat it.

    Great sign by the way. I don’t think I’ve seen it before.

  2. capricornus says :

    Common people I help around with M$ and other pc problems asked me today: what about buying a pc with VIsta.
    FIrst, is there another way for Joe Sixpack?
    Second, my extreme arrogant answer was: I don’t know, I don’t mind, If I buy one (if I ever buy one, because I assemble them), I’ll erase everything and install a dual boot system with WinXP and some Linux distro. And I’ll use the latter as the first. And I’ll use some M$ software I bought or acquired through WINE.
    And you know what? I’m not the nerd anymore. Because I know. I do it. I master it. I refuse Vista.

  3. N. Palmer says :

    I am a user of both Ubuntu Linux x64 and Windows Vista Ultimate x64. Although Vista is not perfect, I honestly don’t have many problems with it. In ways it is more organized and maintainable than XP, and offers many, many options.

    So people don’t like the UAC protection? Turn it off. Many Linux distros feature the same or similar feature. Driver issues? Blame the companies who make your devices and get them to hurry up and develop for the latest version of Windows (hello Linksys!).

    So glad Vista got rid of the whole “My Documents” thing. The user folders are so much more manageable. As an x64 user as well I should have more right to complain but I honestly am quite satisfied. People just don’t like change, and most mainstream PC users started at or near XP and thus are reluctant to change.

    As far as the media’s crush on tech companies, I’d say they’ve always been more harsh on Microsoft than, let’s say, Apple. Now THAT is a middle-school-style infatuation right there. Apparently Apple can do no wrong.

    Nice post by the way and a good explanation of your opinion. Keep up the good work and take a look at my site if you wish.

  4. chirax says :

    Microsoft will never learn Seinfeld will become the new spokesman for Microsoft is worst than, “Paris explains the ASIC Chip Design”.

  5. endochick says :

    I use Vista – not my choice. Hubby bought me a laptop with it installed. I’m not geeky enough to install new operating systems and the such. While I don’t have too many complaints with Vista – one ANNOYING one is that I have to do FN+F9 whenever I’m typing (word doc or web page doesn’t matter) or my damn cursor jumps to different sentences. I’ve also lost whole paragraphs because of this and it will delete it. It’s like it’s possessed. Came like that out of the box!

  6. Richard Chapman says :

    “So people don’t like the UAC protection? Turn it off. Many Linux distros feature the same or similar feature.”

    If you turn off the UAC you negate much of Vista’s security protection. I could be wrong but I believe all, not just many Linux distros have the root account. The root account needs to give permission to anything that will alter the system. It can’t be turned off. The only way to “turn it off” would be to run as root. That’s a very foolish thing to do. I’ve used Vista enough to want to kill the UAC. It’s a similar function as the root but it’s executed much differently. The UAC is in your face with an attitude and far too persistent. The root just asks you for the password. It’s simple, it doesn’t have to be like HAL.

    @endochick

    Download and install Open Office. Give it a try, I think you’ll like it. http://download.openoffice.org/index.html

  7. rasmasyean says :

    Check the statistics instead of “FUD” or “articles” and you can see the real story…

    OK here’s some rough calculations:

    17.85% of internet users are Vista

    http://marketshare.hitslink.com/report.aspx?qprid=11

    1.46 billion internet users

    http://www.internetworldstats.com/stats.htm

    Assuming the usage rate is consistent around the world…
    1.46 billion * 17.85% = 260 million Vista internet users

    The actually user base would be significantly less (i.e. 180 million as per MS sales) than the above number only if for some reason, Vista users surf the internet WAY MORE than all other OS’s to skew the percentage up to 17.85%. It’s probably more likely that that some Vista users don’t use the internet much because it’s for work mostly. Hence there is likely more than 260 million Vista users.

    Hitslink logs statistics in the “rich” (and more regulated) nations. Here Vista adoption is probably held back a little by expense. So that could mean that Vista adoption in other “poorer” (Gov’t don’t give a crap) nations is much greater than 17.85% since you can like buy it at the local fruit shop for like $1, etc.

    http://www.nationmaster.com/graph/cri_sof_pir_rat-crime-software-piracy-rate

    Hey, if you include ALL of Asia? 500 million Vista users??? ;)

  8. rasmasyean says :

    Also, check this out…

    Vista – a $6 Billion Dollars Operating System

    http://news.softpedia.com/news/Vista-a-6-Billion-Dollars-Operating-System-44096.shtml

    I don’t really know what the markup of it is but let’s assume that they make $100 off each license on average (which is a conservative estimate wouldn’t you say?).

    If my math is correct, that’s $18 billion dollars as of the last public sales figures.
    If my math is correct again…that’s TRIPLE the initial costs!

    Of course they likely spent a little more after-market like for Jerry Seinfeld and stuff like that but I don’t think it’s anywhere near $12 billion dollars.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

