Adventures in a New Ubuntu 6.10 Clean Install – Day 1

Day 1

This will be the first post in a series of posts called the Adventures in a New Ubuntu 6.10 Clean Install. I will document my entire experience in preparing for a re-installation of Ubuntu from 6.06.1 to Ubuntu 6.10 with a format.

Best way to download Ubuntu

Now that Ubuntu 6.10 was released today, I was finally able to start getting my system back up and running in a dual-boot configuration with Windows XP Professional.

I opted to download the i386 ISO image using the available torrents since it would be the fastest way to download it. It only took about 45 minutes to download at varying speeds.

Before I continue my installation anecdote, I must explain my computer configuration…

My computer configuration

I have an Intel Pentium 4 processor running at 3.0 Ghz with 1.0 GB of RAM. My motherboard is an Intel Desktop D865PERL. I have a (crappy) ATI Radeon 9200SE video card. I have a (crappy) Samsung SyncMaster 955DF CRT monitor. I have 2 physical drives: one is a 160 GB IDE drive, and the other is a 80 GB SATA drive. My IDE drive is partitioned in 2: One partition is for Windows XP Professional, and the other is for my data. The SATA drive is dedicated entirely to Linux.

When I originally installed Ubuntu 6.06 LTS, I opted to make my Data partition a FAT32 partition for easy access from Ubuntu Linux. This separation of OSes from Data would prove beneficial if ever an OS would crash. I can simply format either OS partitions/drives and start over without losing any data.

After I rendered my original Ubuntu useless, I backed up my important files and settings in Linux from within Windows with Explore2fs.

Installation

Installation was quick and painless. Nothing really to say about it! I told the Gnome partition manager (gparted) to wipe out my SATA drive and install on that drive. It told me that it would install GRUB on HD0, which is the first physical drive in the computer. Installation time: 32 minutes (including answering questions during install).

Tags:

3 responses to “Adventures in a New Ubuntu 6.10 Clean Install – Day 1”

  1. Ferdaus says :

    Just wanted to know if any1 upgraded Ubuntu 6.06.1 LTS to Ubuntu 6.10 without disturbing the data on Ubuntu 6.06.1 LTS…….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

